Should Christians Utilize Loans & Credit Cards?

Sunday evening, I preached a message at church regarding finances. I started off the sermon by asking a question. “If I had one of those two-part donkey costumes up here — you know, the ones where one person has to be the front and the other person has to be the rear — would anyone in here want to be the back part of that costume?”

I bet you smiled when you thought about that one, didn’t you? Who in their right mind would want to be the back half of that donkey? I know I sure wouldn’t want to be!

In Deuteronomy 28:43-44 the Bible talks about how a stranger that lends to you will become the head, as you become the tail.

Have you ever read that verse? Have you thought about what it means?

The person filling the front portion of the donkey suit is the one who gets to choose the direction that make-believe donkey walks in. The back half just has to follow along.

When you borrow money from someone, you put yourself into a master/servant relationship. No, you’re not the master. You’re the servant.

Proverbs 22:7 says, “The rich ruleth over the poor, and the borrower is servant to the lender.”

I’m not going to repreach my entire sermon in the form of a blog, but I do want to throw this thought out there.

Matthew 21:22 tells us that God will supply anything we ask for when we pray in complete faith. So why is it that we, as Christians, rely on banks to give us mortgages where we have to pay back twice what the original asking price was when we could just ask God to supply our needs and trust Him to supply it? Is it because we have more faith in the banks than we have in God?

Think about it!

As I studied the Biblical concept of debt, I looked at every verse I could find throughout the entire King James Bible. I read each one in its context and guess what? I could not find one single occasion where borrowing was cast in a positive light. No, the Bible doesn’t come right out and say “Thou shalt not borrow,” but I challenge you to go through your Bible and find one occasion where God encourages it. Then go back through again and see how many times you can find where borrowing put people in stressful situations and caused divisions and heartaches or where it is spoken of in a negative light.

The Bible seems to be pretty clear on the subject. Don’t take my word for it. Check it out for yourself.

Leave a Reply

