Is It Ungodly To Have People Follow You On Social Media?

I recently read an article insinuating that very idea!  Although I believe the author did have good intentions in saying a person must be careful to not seek the approval of man and to seek popularity, I believe he was slightly mistaken.

In I Corinthians 11:1, Paul said “Be ye followers of me, even as I also am of Christ.” No one in their right mind would condemn Paul for that statement.

Was Paul a perfect man? No. Of course he wasn’t. He was made out of the same stuff we’re made out of. Paul wasn’t claiming to be perfect. He wasn’t claiming to be God. What he was saying was something like this, “Christ is sitting on the right hand of the Father. You can believe in Him by faith, but you can’t see Him with your eyes. But you can see Him in me. I am trying to serve God by following the example Christ set for me. Jump in line with me – let’s follow God together.”

What is wrong with that? Absolutely nothing!

If you are truly serving God and trying to abide by the Bible and you want to write a blog or own a Christian Facebook page or group and get a lot of people to follow you as you follow Christ… good for you! There’s nothing ungodly about it – as long as you’re leading by the right kind of example.

Leave a Reply

