God’s math is the only place where 1 = 3

Saturday, we decided to take a three and a half hour drive to Glacier National Park. If you’ve never been there, it’s a gorgeous place to visit with astounding views. Sadly, it’s also known for its dangerous grizzly bears.

Since our minivan has over 200,000 miles on it, I decided to check all of the fluids before we left the house – the oil, transmission, radiator, and even the power steering fluid. I didn’t want to take any chances.

Just before pulling out of the driveway, I prayed and asked God for travelling mercies on our trip. Boy am I ever glad I did that. That is where the #1 comes into play – 1 prayer was spoken.

About two-thirds of the way to Glacier, we rounded a curve to find an two impatient drivers coming straight toward us in our lane – they had apparently whipped around a slower moving vehicle. I hit the brakes but there was no way I was going to get stopped. Only by the grace of God were both of those vehicles able to get back in their lane before colliding with us. That was 1 answer to the 1 prayer that was spoken.

About twenty minutes later, we were going through a more populated residential area when a car sped through an intersection and cut us off. Again, it was such a close call that I don’t have the words to explain it. But God! That’s all I can say. God prevented a horrible accident!

On our way home from Glacier that night, it was dark – around 10:00 pm or so. A large deer stepped out into the road and froze in my headlights. Again, I hit the brakes but there clearly was not going to be enough time to get stopped before plowing into her. My wife braced herself i the passenger side, waiting for the impact. I blasted the horn several times just before we got to her, she spun and ran out of the road.

Three answers to one prayer. That’s what kind of God I serve!

Do you know what else is incredible about God’s math? Not only does 1 = 3, but 3 = 1 as well. That’s right – God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Ghost – they’re 3 but 1 at the same time. Gotta love that kind of math, huh?

Leave a Reply

