Just Do it! Who Cares If You’re Qualified?

Teenagers are very self-conscious. Some of them have low self-esteem. Words from their peers and authority figures sometimes hurt more than the words were intended. For example, when I was in ninth grade, my music teacher was talking to a man about a percussion group that was going to be forming. He looked at me and said,

“You can’t join. You don’t have an ear for music.”

I was a trombone player and had been playing since I was in the 5th grade. My parents worked out arrangements for that music teacher to tutor me privately after school. He was unable to teach me. I dropped out of band before entering high school.

As far as my band teacher was concerned, I did not have the ability to learn music. I could not be used in any musical capacity whatsoever.

In high school, I could not stand to get up in front of my peers to give an oral report. Speaking in front of people made me nervous. I would get tongue-tied. I would talk so fast no one could understand a word I was saying. My teachers would have told you I would never be able to hold any type of position where public speaking would be required.

I have news I would love to share with those teachers. There is a God up in Heaven who has the power to make a tone-deaf junior high student able to become a church music/choir director later in life. There is a God up in Heaven who can take that shy, backward high school student and make him an assistant pastor who preaches every Sunday evening.

There are many Christians out there who feel they can’t do certain things because they’re too scared or because they’re not qualified or because they’ve never done it before. To that, I say – JUST DO IT!

Talk to God first. Make sure it’s what God wants you to do and not something you just want to do on your own. You don’t have to have a college degree to be used of God! God can use a child. He can use a teenager. He can use a high school drop-out. God can use anybody for anything! God’s only requirement is a willing heart. If you’re willing to be used of God, God will give you whatever qualifications you need.

If you want to be used of Him, right now, why don’t you pray and ask God to use you? Tell Him you’re willing to do anything He wants you to do, wherever He wants you to do it, and whenever He wants you to do it. If you do that, be ready! God might just take you up on that offer and your life might take on some drastic changes!

6 Comments

      1. Maybe so. I found out a few weeks that my job will end March 31st. I want very much to really believe that God is going to use this as an opportunity to use some gifts and skills that I’ve never developed or never believed that I had. I’m inspired by unimagined possibilities opening up in an unexpected way! So maybe seriously so!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

