It’s Alive! It’s Alive!

I have read quite a few books lately. Many of them have spoken to me in different ways. Some have been entertaining, others have been thought-provoking, while others were somewhat inspirational. The mainstream books I’m referring to, however, were just plain, ordinary, every day books.

There is one book, however, which is different from any other book I have ever held in my hands. The book is alive! Of course, you know I’m referring to the Bible, right?

Several years ago, I was facing a trial unlike any other.

A trial that I thought might be the end of the very life I was living. A trial I don’t even feel like discussing at this time in my life. What I do want to discuss is how the Bible, God’s Word, strengthened and encouraged me at that time.

Tears flowed down my cheeks when I was alone. At night, I held my Bible tight. I prayed. I cried some more. I needed to hear from Heaven. One morning, I got down on my knees, Bible in hand, and called out to God again. I asked Him to show me in His Word what was going to happen – what the outcome of my situation was going to be.

Flipping the Bible open, the first verse I saw was John 11:4. Oh what beautiful words they were to me at that time. I could have read that verse at any other time in my life and they wouldn’t have seemed so beautiful. But at that exact moment in time, that Living Word of God spoke to my heart. Those words were what I needed to hear right then. It was God’s way of telling me everything was going to be okay. The verse simply said,

“When Jesus heard that, he said, This sickness is not unto death, but for the glory of God, that the Son of God might be glorified thereby.”

God used that verse to tell me, “Boy, you’re going to be okay. I’m your father. You’re my child. I adopted you into my family. This isn’t going to be the end of you. You’re going to make it.”

Well, glory to God! Hallelujah! God spoke to my heart so strongly through His Word that morning that I didn’t have to guess. I didn’t have to worry. I knew that I knew that I knew that I knew that trial was going to turn out okay. God was in control. He was on His throne. He had my back. He was in my corner.

“O death, where is thy sting? O grave, where is thy victory?” – I Corinthians 15:55

John 11:4 became my life verse that morning.

I printed it off in huge letters. Each letter of the verse was printed on its own separate piece of paper. I taped the verse to the top of the wall surrounding the room where God had revealed His plan to me. I left it there for several months to remind me of God’s revelation!

By the way, a week or so after God showed me that verse, a miracle happened! Something I never would have expected in a thousand years took place. I cried again, but this time those tears were tears of joy. Tears of amazement. Tears of, “Wow! My God won that victory for me!”

Christian, do you know the Bible is alive? Do you know you can read a verse twenty-five times and not have it really speak to your heart? But in that time when God has a message He wants to relay to you, that verse will take on a completely different meaning. It’s because we talk to God through prayer and He talks to us through His Word. If you haven’t heard from God for a while, it’s probably because you haven’t been reading your Bible and asking Him to talk to you.

5 Comments

  1. Great post! So glad that you shared this. Also nice that you didn’t share the circumstances that were going on at the time because that, to me, speaks to the universality of God’s Word for all people, all situations, all time. A reader could be going through a tough time, read this and think, “Maybe he was going through what I’m going through now. Maybe I should dust off my Bible and seek God.” Very nicely done!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

