What Goes Around Comes Around

I’m sure by now you have probably heard that old saying,

“What goes around, comes around.”

What you may or may not know, is that is a scriptural principle. It comes from Galatians 6:7, where God’s Word says,

“Be not deceived; God is not mocked: for whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap.”

That’s an easy verse to preach to our kids, isn’t it? It’s an easy verse to preach to our siblings and to our spouses. It’s an easy verse to preach to congregations. Oh, but isn’t it painful when we have to reap what we have sown?

We came home from church a couple of evenings ago to find a huge dent in our Jeep. Someone had to have known they hit it if it left a dent this size. Wouldn’t you agree?

SAM_5328.JPG

Since we are the only house on this end of the street, it would not have been very difficult for someone to leave a note on our door or to at least leave one on the vehicle. If not leaving their insurance information, at least an apology or an explanation? I’m sure it wasn’t intentional. They probably slid on the ice. But still, how dare you hit someone’s vehicle and drive away as if nothing had happened?

I was pretty frustrated, until God brought something back to my mind. Something I thought I had gotten away with many years ago.

I was a teenager who hadn’t had his driver’s license very long. I was backing my car out of a space at school and apparently I cut my wheel too sharp. The front corner of my car connected with the rear bumper of the older pickup truck parked next to me. I tried to scoot forward, but my car wouldn’t budge. I tried to move in reverse, but it was no use. Not knowing what else to do, I gave it more gas. My car got free, but it left a small hole in the body of my car and twisted around the other guy’s bumper. I left the scene out of fear and because I had other things to do. I didn’t know where the driver was or how to go about finding him. At that point, all I hoped for was to get out of there without being found out.

Guess what? God doesn’t forget about things like that! That was about twenty years ago. God keeps record. He says we will reap what we sow. He wasn’t playing when He said that. He meant every word. Why should I get angry that someone hit my car and drove away? I asked for it twenty years ago. Whose fault is it my car got hit? Mine.

The unfortunate part of the whole thing is this. My wife wasn’t there when I hit that truck twenty years ago. She had nothing to do with my actions. Yet, now that she’s married to me, she feels the results of the stupid decisions I made. The consequences of my actions not only affect me, but they affect my wife and my household.

Think about that when you fly off the handle at someone over some piddly little thing that shouldn’t amount to a hill of beans. Someone is going to do the same thing to you.

Think about it the next time you rip someone off in a business deal. It’ll happen to you later on.

Think about it the next time you drive right passed that broken down vehicle on the road with the desperate person pushing it in the rain. You will get your due.

You will reap what you sow. It might be today, it might be tomorrow. God might give you some time to think about it. It might happen next year or twenty years from now. It might not just affect you. It might affect your spouse and your children or your grandchildren.

You will reap what you sow. Never forget that Biblical principle.

 

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

