Chocolate & Underwear

Chocolate and underwear sound like a pretty horrible combination, don’t they? Kind of like sandpaper and toilet seats? Or pizza and indigestion?

For some reason, because it’s Valentine’s Day, husbands buy their wives boxes of chocolates and assortments of flowers and wives buy their husbands new socks and cute underwear. See, chocolate and underwear can go together, kind of. All the while, single folks get discouraged and depressed, feeling like they are the only ones in the world who don’t have a partner to share the romantic holiday with.

For the majority of my lifetime, I spent my Valentine’s Days alone, wishing I was involved in a romantic relationship of some sort. By the time I reached the age of thirty-two, it seemed obvious that I was meant to spend the rest of my life alone.

Friends, co-workers, and even relatives insisted the reason I was single was because I had set my standards too high (with the exception of those who thought I was too ugly, too nerdy, or just plain weird).

“You want a girl who always wears dresses or skirts? Nobody does that anymore.”


“You’re looking for someone who has never been married and who is still pure? Not going to happen.”


“You’re wanting to find someone who has long hair and who would be okay with the idea of being a home-maker? Do you not know what generation you’re living in?”


“You want to marry someone who has the exact same beliefs that you have? Give me a break.”

Those folks were right. I did have high standards and I felt whole heartedly that my standards were based upon the Word of God, regardless of how the rest of society felt about them. (Those standards are based on Deuteronomy 22:5, Hebrews 13:4, I Corinthians 11:15, Titus 2:5, 2 Corinthians 6:14 as well as other scriptures)

After losing hope of ever finding the lady of my dreams, God sent me right to her. She was every ounce of what I was looking for in a help-meet and then some! Not only did she have all of the same beliefs and standards I had, but she had grown up as the daughter of a missionary. Her parents had never been divorced. All of her married siblings had chosen Godly individuals to make commitments to and they were all happily serving the Lord. She was beautiful to look upon and sang hymns in a way that stirred my heart. Not only that, but she was her church’s pianist, sang in the choir, and taught in a children’s program. She was respectful of her parents and it was obvious she was a hard-worker.

Wait, I didn’t even mention the way she cooks. Shouldn’t that have been close to the top of my list? She had the amazing ability of turning absolutely nothing into overrunning dishes of deliciousness.

I somehow left out the fact that she knows how to decorate, how to clean, how to make a house look and smell and feel like a warm home environment.

I could go on, but I’ll spare you the details.

Before we even had a chance to know each other very well, we knew. Perhaps I should say I knew. God specifically designed that gorgeous young lady for me the same way He had designed Eve for Adam. No, I’m not saying God made me fall into a deep sleep and created my wife from my rib, but I am saying God saw that I was lonely and He created a special someone just for me.

This will be the fifth year that Hannah has been my valentine. She has been everything I could have ever asked for in a wife.

Okay, I’m sure by now you are wondering why I have went on and on about my wife in what is typically a Christian-based blog?

Let me tell you what the theme verse of our wedding was.

“Delight thyself also in the LORD; and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart.” – Psalm 37:4

For years before meeting the lady who was to become my Mrs. Right, I had tried to find my soul mate on my own. I had talked to and dated all of the wrong people. Well, not all, but pretty close to all.

At some point in my life, I decided to give up on trying to find my special someone. Who cares if everyone else had someone to snuggle up to on Valentine’s Day, right?

I surrendered my life to God. I got involved in full-time ministry work and became who God wanted me to be. After a while, God said,

“Now it’s time for me to introduce you to a special gift. A special gift I made just for you! Check her out!”

Whatever need seems to go unfilled in your life, let me tell you this Sir or Ma’am. God always keeps His word. When he says He will give you the desires of your heart when you learn to delight yourself in Him, He will do it. They aren’t just idle words.

God isn’t a dummy, either. You can’t manipulate God and pretend to delight in Him just to get what you want. He’s not like some kind of genie that pops out of a magic lamp when you rub the top of it. What God wants is for you to surrender yourself to Him.

Sunday morning, our pastor preached a message on servitude. He said it’s easy to know Jesus as our Redeemer, but it’s a lot harder to know Him as our Lord. He said the only way to know Him as Lord is to allow Him to be the Lord of every part of our lives, every day. That’s also how you delight in the Lord. Learn to love the things of God. Learn to honor Him in all of your ways and He will give you the desires of your heart just like he gave me mine.

 

 

Leave a Reply

