Heaven’s Choir

Yesterday morning, our church choir performed for the second time since its formation several weeks ago. It was a powerful, moving, exciting time for our church body. Our choir consists of folks between grade school age and retirement age. We don’t hold try-outs. Anyone who wants to sing for the Lord is welcome to sing His praises.

“That was the best singing I’ve ever heard here,” a gentleman from the congregation announced after the service.

I have to admit, he was right! Our choir members have been practicing and enjoying fellowship with one another for weeks. They have been learning to sing different parts,  how to lift their voices, and how to enjoy bringing God the glory through song.

Something about that choir singing stirred up a sweet spirit in our church, not that our church doesn’t normally have a sweet spirit about it anyway. The presence of the Holy Spirit could be felt in our midst.

That kind of singing makes me think about what Heaven will be like. The Bible speaks of heavenly hosts singing. Some day, when the Lord has my place in that glorious city ready for me, I will be there in that Heavenly choir singing adoration to the God who loved me so much to send His only begotten Son to die on that cross for me.

I can envision millions of people singing with their loudest voices, wearing the brightest smiles on their faces they have ever worn. Goose bumps run down my arms and spine just thinking about that glorious day.

“I will sing unto the Lord, because he hath dealt bountifully with me.” – Psalm 13:6

Do you ever take the time to think about who you are and where God has placed you in life? There have been many times when I have been in a preaching service or have been singing along with the congregation, when it has hit me. I am a child of the King! The Creator of the universe loves me. I’m nobody special. I have done nothing to deserve His favor. He chose me! He sent His Son to be my redeemer! Think about that. If you have accepted God’s gift of salvation, you have been promoted to a position higher than the angels. You are a part of the family of God!

Our choir has been practicing for a while now – trying to get themselves better prepared for singing to the church body. How much more important it should be for all of us to prepare ourselves to become members of the Heavenly choir?

We should confess and turn away from our sins. We should learn to worship God in spirit and in truth. We ought to read our Bibles from cover to cover and ask God to help us learn deep spiritual truths from reading His Word. We ought to see how clean and pure we can be. We never know when our last minute on earth will be. When I stand before the throne, I don’t want to stand there with unconfessed sin still on my account. Yes, I know that when I got saved my sins were cast as far as the East is from the West, but that doesn’t make it okay for me to willingly sin against God and not repent of it. He loves me, He gave the ultimate sacrifice for me. I owe my life to Him, and so do you.

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

