God Still Works Miracles

Sometimes it’s easy to fall into a rut of believing the God who allowed Peter to walk on water, raised Lazarus from the dead, and divided the sea has stopped performing miracles. Friend, don’t just sit there idling. Drop it into four-wheel drive and get yourself out of that rut! The God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob is still sitting upon His throne. He is still working miracles today.

I was just thinking back to some of the miracles God has worked in my lifetime and decided to share some of those with you. Hopefully, these true accounts may will help increase your faith so that when you pray, you will be expecting God to answer your prayers.

In 1998 I turned 18 years of age and moved out on my own for the very first time. That winter, I was driving down a long, steep, narrow driveway in the middle of the night when my Chevy Celebrity began sliding out of control. I tried everything I could think of, but that car was enjoying its ice-skating adventure and had no intentions of stopping. Looking ahead, I saw my car was ever-so-gracefully gliding its way toward a house that was directly across the street from my driveway.

Scared out of my mind, I cried out, “God please help me!”

As the words slipped out of my mouth, the car halted its figure-skating routine. At the time, I thought I had regained control. The truth is, God took over the steering wheel, the brakes, and the tires. He stopped that skid and kept me, the car, and the neighbor’s house all in tact. He is a miracle-working God!


In 2003 or 2004, I was sitting at a stop-sign in a Pontiac Grand Am when a GMC Blazer rounded a corner and plowed into the driver’s side of my car. To my shock, disgust, and outrage, the unlicensed driver threw the gear shift into reverse, backed away from my car, threw it back into drive, and sped away. My instant reflex was to grab my cell phone and call 911.

“A guy just hit my car and took off! His license plate number is…” I began yelling into the phone.

As I was giving the dispatcher the identifying information, a lady knocked on my window and asked if I was okay. She and her off-duty police officer husband had been walking down the sidewalk and watched the whole thing. Her husband called it in and in no time the police were on the scene. There is no way anyone will ever convince me that God didn’t have that off-duty officer standing there at that exact second just for my benefit. What a mighty God!


God’s miracles aren’t limited to protection during automobile accidents. I remember a time when it had been raining for days. The creek that was supposed to be across the street from my house swelled into a river that swallowed up the street. I heard an engine revving up and I ran out on the porch just in time to see a pick-up truck get stuck in the middle of the water.

rainbow-142701_1280

For a moment, it appeared as if the truck had dropped its anchor and couldn’t possibly go anywhere. A moment later, as if the anchor had suddenly been lifted, the rushing water whisked the truck, along with its driver and passenger, away out of sight. I called the police and they were able to do a water rescue to save the lives of the men who had been too drunk to know better than to drive into a flood. A few hours later, the rising water began climbing the steps of my house. I made a decision that if the water rose to the third step of the house, I was going to have to go out the backdoor and climb the mountain behind my house for safety. The water got up two and a half steps and the rain suddenly turned to snow. Not surprisingly, the water stopped rising. Oh, what a magnificent, wonderful, miracle-working God!


A few years ago, my wife and I sat across a picnic table from one another, begging God for direction. He made it clear to us that we were to move approximately 2,000 miles away from our families and the only lives we knew. We didn’t have jobs to go to, we didn’t know anyone where we were going, but God said go and we went. A couple of months after the move, our finances were really tight. The rent and a few utility bills were due. We didn’t know what we were going to do. We prayed and asked for God’s intercession. On the day a couple of those bills needed to be paid, I walked out to the mailbox and found three or four unexpected checks there, from the most random sources. Those amounts covered all of our expenses, pretty much to the penny. I cried all the way home and when I walked in the door, my wife knew God had done something amazing.


for-sale-148892_1280The following year, our landlord put the house we were living in on the market. We had to be out of the house one afternoon while the realtor was going to show the house to a potential buyer. While walking around the neighborhood, an older gentleman stopped his vehicle and said he hadn’t seen us around town before. We told him about our situation and why we were out and about. The gentleman said, “I don’t think it’s a coincidence that we ran into each other. I own a finance company and some people defaulted on their mortgage payments. I have a vacant house that I’m looking to rent out. It’s not in the best of shape but it has 4 bedrooms and 2 baths.” He went on to tell us the price and it was exactly half of what we had been paying in rent for the other house.

We had been worried about moving because we had no way of paying the first month’s rent, the last month’s rent, and a security deposit anywhere. Still, we agreed to go look at the house. When we looked at it, it was a mess. Carpets in some rooms were stained with oil, in other rooms there was no carpet at all, some of the walls had large holes in them, and the place looked like a tornado had hit it. However, somehow the house seemed to have some potential. We asked the gentleman if we would be allowed to paint the interior walls and change things around a little bit. To our pleasant surprise, he said “If you agree to do the repairs yourself, I will waive the security deposit and the first month’s rent.”

It was a done deal! Even though the house we now live in is nowhere near as fancy as the other house we lived in, we are more comfortable and happier here than we were at the other house. It’s a miracle how God had that man stop just at the time he did. Isn’t God good to give us so many blessings?


If I wanted to bore you with a longer post, I would tell you in detail about:

  • The 20+ people who volunteered their time to help us fix up our new house
  • God providing me with a vehicle free of charge
  • His miraculous healing of my knee
  • God having me stop my car just so I could be a blessing to someone in need
  • A homeless man spending the night outside of our house who went to church with us the next day
  • An anonymous individual donating $200 per month to us for over a year
  • A different individual allowing us to make $200/month payments for a much-needed 2nd vehicle
  • His putting the right people in the right places to heal me from lyme disease within a short time period
  • And more!

Whatever trial you may be facing, rest assured, God is still on His throne! He can help you with financial troubles, He can heal your sicknesses or injuries, He can protect you from harm, He can supply your needs, He can, He can, He can!

You have nothing to fear when  you are a child of the King of Kings and Lord of Lords!

As the old song writer said, “Blessed Assurance, Jesus Is Mine.”

 

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

